Essentials of Buddhism - core concepts

Four Noble Truths

1. Suffering exists
2. Suffering arises from attachment to desires
3. Suffering ceases when attachment to desire ceases
4. Freedom from suffering is possible by practicing the Eightfold Path

Noble Eightfold Path

Three Qualities Eightfold Path
Wisdom (panna) Right View Right Thought
Morality (sila) Right Speech Right Action Right Livelihood
Meditation (samadhi) Right Effort Right Mindfulness Right Contemplation

Three Characteristics of Existence

1. Transiency (anicca)

2. Sorrow (dukkha)

3. Selflessness (anatta)


1. Sensuous lust
2. Aversion and ill will
3. Sloth and torpor
4. Restlessness and worry
5. Sceptical doubt

Factors of Enlightenment

1. Mindfulness
2. Investigation
3. Energy
4. Rapture
5. Tranquillity
6. Concentration
7. Equanimity